• Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Flickr Photos

  • Tweets

Me again

Seeking pattern finding assistance…

Rob was looking thru the LL Bean catalog and saw this sweater.

So I am searching for a raglan roll neck sweater pattern. I can probably wing it a la Elizabeth Zimmerman, but I know if I find the right pattern I will be using it over and over again.

The Berkshire Pullover out of the book Weekend Knitting is close but we aren’t crazy about the neck nor the drop shoulders but I can fix that. Or figure out how to incorporate the Anniversary Sweater’s neck shaping and neckline. hmmmmm… it would help if I had all of my books here.

I also need to remember the name of the type of yarn that Rob is partial to is marled yarn.

Another Not Rob Post

I am gonna make a mix “tape” for him and I don’t want to forget the songs that I have been thinking about.

The beginning of my tentative song list

3 Blind Mice Call Me Beautiful
Joshua Kadison Born to Shine
Lee Coulter Ocean
Mike McGill State Of Mind

Last songs will be – If I Had A Million Dollars by BNL, Alison Krauss’ version of When You Say Nothing At All & You Lift Me Up by Josh Groban.

I heard a song on Jamie Oliver’s podcast today by Tim Kay. It’s not one of the four listed on Tim’s myspace nor iTunes, bummed. Will have to keep checking on it.

And I don’t want to forget the name Alyssa Hendrix, love her song Dragon but not for Rob, lol for me.

How you can help…

Does any have a (or know of a shareware) program for printing CD labels? I want to print the label for Wakka Chikka Wakka Chikka as well as this mix CD.

And I need someone’s help to download and make the CD since I don’t have a writer drive. Ancient machine.

More insight into me…

Lots of revealing crap lately huh?

I wanted to share my response to a mama of bi-racial children on one of the boards that I frequent.

I am a multi-racial woman.

It was very hard growing up at times dealing with “white privilege” and racism. I was often too caucasian, too puerto rican, too urban, too country for someone in my family let alone for the folks around me. I found it very hard to relate to many of my cousins (nuyoricans & rural folks). My mother never spoke her first language at home (Spanish) because she was so determined that we spoke proper English.

I was the top Hispanic American student in my school (going as far as winning both the HACER and CT’s Day of Pride scholarships) but I didn’t (and still can’t) speak the language.

Now as I try to learn about my heritage it is hard to chose a focus. Puerto Rico’s history? Penn Dutch? Scottish? Cree? My mother was born in PR and her mother is what is often referred to as a “black” Puerto Rican. My father’s mother is Penn Dutch. My father’s grandfather was born in Dunoon, Scotland and my father’s grandmother was Cree (Métis) and her first languages were French & Métis (a creole of Cree & French). Should I learn Spanish, German, Gaelic, Métis, Cree or French? Tough. So mostly I just identify as American and learn all I can and live and let live.

My son is a sandy hair, light brown eyed boy who doesn’t tan (or burn).

What can I pass on to him besides my desire to learn, to share and to accept?