Monday Monday

“It’s just another manic Monday
I wish it were Sunday
‘Cause that’s my funday
My I don’t have to runday
It’s just another manic Monday ”

Actually it wasn’t too horrible this morning…

Just didn’t get a chance to hit the post office this morning so my traveling scarf is yet another day late. “What is a traveling scarf?”, you ask. Well I started my scarf, the first 5 inches, then I send it to the next person on my list. This person does 5 inches on it and sends to next person and so on, until the scarf has traveled through the hands of 10 people and returns to me, where I can finish it off. I will also receive their scarves and work 5 inches of each of them. Fun stuff.

But I did hit Starbucks and got an extra shot of espresso free in my Iced White Mocha. So I am humming along very nicely.

The Honda is fixed and ready to pick up. Could have picked it up last night but it was rather late and then Ryne would have been in bed late and Mondays are just rough and didn’t want to add a late night to it. Anyhoo, they had to replace the cam gear, apparently it stripped. And when they kept starting the car, it bent one of the valves so the head needed replacing. The good news I didn’t have to pay for many parts, the bad news is that Dan needed help from a mechanic friend so have to pay him. All in all it’s just less than $400 which is way less than trying to get another car and getting it on the road. But this scare has us seriously thinking about finding another beater, probably another Honda of similar age and style.

Ordered my seeds for this year’s garden. Now I need to get the yard cleaned up and talk to landlord about the spigot/hose and pot placement. Yesterday would have been a great day to mess with yard but I just didn’t have the energy. Hopefully the 10 day forecast is pretty close and I can work out there this coming Sunday. Need to borrow some tools from dad including pruners for rose bush, big rake (may buy one) and sit down and really figure out how many new buckets, bamboo poles, etc. that I need.

We went to 99 last night for dinner. I just wasn’t in the mood to cook and we had a coupon. So I had this new scallop dish that was extremely yummy. Rob and I have already decided I need to come up with a decent replication of it. Shouldn’t be too hard. I just need to make up a good honey citrus sauce.

This recipe looks like a good starting place. Think I’d need to make more “sauce” though to go over more veggies for a stir-fry type dish to be served over Jasmine Rice.

Honey Scallops with Garlic Broccolini
Courtesy of FishEx (Original Recipe)

1 lb Alaska Scallops
3 Tbsp Lime Juice
1 Tbsp Vegetable Oil
1 Tbsp Honey
1 Tbsp Soy Sauce
¼ tsp Ginger
2 Tbsp toasted Sesame Seeds (probably skip these)

Combine lime juice, oil, honey, soy sauce, and ginger. Add scallops and toss to coat. Cover and refrigerate 1 hour, stirring occasionally. Remove scallops from marinade, reserving marinade. In an extremely hot pan with a little grapeseed oil, sear and brown the scallops, flipping once. Servings: 4

Serve with broccolini that have been blanched, sautéed with minced garlic.

I am comparing the Diva Cup to the Keeper Mooncup this month. On day two of the Diva Cup, it seems easier to take out. But my Mooncup, seems to go in easier. So now I have to decide which is more important to me. Or at least figure out the trick to the Diva Cup popping open properly on first try.

4 Responses

  1. Good luck on the cup debate….LOL… i just stick to the instead cups. I like them a LOT more.
    I haven’t been to 99 in a while… i never have had anything really appetizing.. make me wanna go back for more… kinda food there.
    YAY… the car is fixed…a parts car, you mean? LOL.

  2. I have expresso envy.

Leave a Reply

