• Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Flickr Photos

    IMG_6400

    IMG_6399

    IMG_6398

    More Photos
  • Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I really thought I was on my way to another CFS flare…

But am feeling pretty well this morning. Just need to make sure I am in bed on time & eat correctly, the rest of the week and I should be peachy for the weekend. Not that I have any plans besides ginormous piles of laundry.

So I think I am going to start mixing up my morning oatmeal with smoothies and other fruit (or veggie heavy) options. While I have my portion control under control and can stay within my calorie limits easily and without much thought these days, I have been having a rough time getting the amount of freggies in my diet that I’d like. Summer time is easy (I adore salads with in season veggies) but winter, not so much. One change I want to make is two veggies with dinner. One the family will eat and one that is just for me (spread it over a couple days).

I am restarting my six-week daily challenge this coming Monday (barring health issues again).

This weekend, I want to see if I can find a single serving blender, the kind with the jug that holds 16-24 oz. I mean, I do want a Vitamix or Blendtec eventually but this will be a cheaper option that I could use semi daily.

Now my issue is that I am not crazy about bananas in my smoothies, options seem to be frozen mango, avocado and apples for creaminess for those mornings I want to hold the yogurt.

Mango Smoothie
1 cup frozen mango chunks
1 cup frozen pineapple chunks
3/4 cup pineapple-coconut juice
1/2 cup non-fat vanilla yogurt

Sweet Veggie Smoothie
1 cup apple juice
1 cup of sliced apple (sweet tasting apples are better)
1/4 cup applesauce
1/2 cup sliced carrots
1/2 cup of cucumber (peeled and sliced)
2 cups of ice
a dash of nutmeg or cinnamon (optional)

Healthy Broccoli Smoothie
1 Carrot (chopped)
4 Florets of Broccoli
2 Handfuls of Spinach
1 Apple (chopped)
2 Oranges (peeled and quartered)
Orange Juice to dilute

Pumpkin Smoothie
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 cup apricot
1 tbs sugar
1 cup 2% milk
1 pinch of cinnamon
1 pinch of nutmeg
1 cup of ice

Pumpkin Smoothie
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
3/4 cup milk or yogurt
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. nutmeg
2 tsp. brown sugar
4 ice cubes

Beta Carotene Blast Smoothie
3 small ice cubes
2 apricots (sliced and pitted)
1/2 papaya (frozen in chunks)
1/2 mango (frozen in chunks)
1/2 cups carrot juice
1 tablespoon honey

Pear Avocado Smoothie
1 large pear, chopped
1/2 cups grapes
1/4 avocado
2 teaspoons honey
1 teaspoon lemon juice

Peach Spinach
6 peaches
2 handfuls of spinach leaves
Water

Green Smoothie
2-3 cups of greens of your choice
2 cups papaya
2 oranges

Green Smoothie
2 handfuls baby spinach
1 celery stick
1 handful parsley
1 Granny Smith apple
1/4 tsp ginger powder
2 cups water

3 Responses

  1. Have you tried all these recipes? Sounds good.

    • Most of them… I just keep tweaking them and seeing what happens.
      I do know that I want to start doing more avocado and coconut oil. And I have some unsweetened coconut flakes, hmmmmm…

  2. I used to have smoothies with yogurt, milled flax-seed, protein, pineapple and pecans. Yum!

Leave a Reply

