TGIF!

I still haven’t written a list of all I have to do but it’s swirling around in my head. The biggest thing is making sure I get up and “do” on Sunday – will be spending all day in the kitchen and office – batch cooking and migrating a forum.

***

Read this on SparkPeople and thought it was share worthy.

The 10 Commandments of Healthy Eating for Parents
It’s as simple as counting to ten!
  1. Thou shalt not force, bribe or coerce thy child to eat.
  2. Thou shalt set a good example by eating at least five fruits and vegetables, three whole grain products, and three dairy servings per day thyself.
  3. Thou shalt make mealtimes pleasant.
  4. Thou shalt encourage thy child to help in meal planning, preparation, and cleanup.
  5. Thou shalt back off when mealtime becomes a power struggle.
  6. Thou shalt accept food “binges” as phases that will
  7. Thou shalt accept the fact that thy child is an individual and thus will dislike certain foods (and there may be many!).
  8. Thou shalt not give up on introducing thy child to new foods. Thou shalt realize it sometimes takes ten tries to get a child to accept a food.
  9. Thou shalt use this division of responsibility for eating: As the parent, thou art responsible for deciding when and what to serve. Thy child is responsible for deciding how much (if any) will be eaten.
  10. Thou shalt give thy child a multivitamin-mineral supplement if he is a picky eater.
4 Responses

  1. In short.
    Do everything your parents didn’t. ( in my case anyway).
    I remember having to sit at the table until i finished my meal… i often fell asleep.

    • Me too. I woke up to beef liver many a morning. Ick, ick, ick.
      Only rule is that he takes one bite of everything unless we are very aware he doesn’t like it – i.e. eggs.

  2. I agree with most of that, in principle.
    However, there are times that Peo will not eat any of her proper meal because of anticipation of a forthcoming snack, such as if she knows she’s going to a playdate where a particular mother always brings sweets.
    I don’t make Peo finish her plate if she’s genuinely full, and I can tell pretty easily by the speed of her eating, whether or not she’s let out a resounding burp, etc. I’m totally okay to put leftovers away.
    But let her get away with skipping a healthy meal in anticipation of a snack? No way. I know parents who do that and then they wonder why their kid refuses utterly to sit still for any proper meal, and I have little pity for them.
    So yes, I have and will continue to tell Peo that unless she finishes a certain small amount of her healthy meal, she can’t go to certain activities or have certain snacks or desserts.

    • Kim, I agree with you… There are definitely times – i.e. eating out. Where we encourage Ryne to finish xyz bites of that before you can have this. Or some such, but like you mentioned it’s because we know he’s not full he’s just squirrelly. If he is genuinely full that we’ll happily get a doggie bag.
      I just grew up in an all or nothing household. You will eat everything I give you or go hungry, type attitude. I am very careful to be flexible and read the situation for what it is.
      There are days Ryne can out eat both Rob and I and days that he’s happy snacking here and there. We accomodate within reason and move on.
      My ultimate goal is to make food a joy and not a poweplay.

Leave a Reply

