So much to do, so little time…

Well the new desk prompted major decluttering. Got a lot done this weekend but not as much as I hoped.

Even with all the fans going, the house stayed over 80 all weekend, even approaching mid-80s more than once. Which meant I couldn’t do anything more than 30-45 minutes without having to take a break to cool down and keep the asthma or palpitations from acting up. But all in all, I am still impressed with myself. Rob and I are going to work together tonight and see what we can do. Hoping the house is cooler tonight and I will let him do the lifting.

So tired, despite an early night. Think the weekend was more physical than I thought.

***

Started a little snow dragon on Saturday at SnB. It’s so cute! Really need to finish it off. My biggest concern, besides getting myself to sit down and work on it, is finding safety eyes. AC Moore has a very small selection and neither Michael’s or JoAnn’s carry them. I have to stock up on-line one of these days, here.

***

It’s official, the radishes were a total bust. Will try again with a summer variety. The beginner veggie is the one that flopped. Which is typical, of me.

My chives and oregano aren’t looking happy either. I am wondering if they aren’t getting enough light. Going to bring all the herbs upstairs tonight. Both the basils and cilantro are doing just fine.

***

Finished Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. Loved it. Can’t say it’s completely different from Hayao Miyazaki’s version. Let’s just say he took a lot of amazing creative license. Similar stories but oh so pleasantly different. Both are different animals but very much on my favorite list. Going to read Castle in the Air next. Haven’t seen the Hayao Miyazaki version in a while, since we don’t own it. Should be interesting as well to see what he did to the book for his movie.

***

One of my pagan groups posts the Llewellyn Spell of the Day. Most of the time, they just amuse me, but today’s was a nugget. I actually say grace often before I cook or eat.

Llewellyn’s Spell A Day: Pagan Grace June 29th, 2008
http://www.llewellyn.com/free/spell.php

Color of the day: Yellow
Incense of the day: Marigold

Many Pagans grew up “saying grace” over meals in a mainstream religion, and later abandoned the habit. Yet the idea of giving thanks for blessings received is profoundly Pagan, for we honor the spirits in all things, including plants and animals. Hunters in traditional Pagan cultures would say a prayer for the animals they killed; gatherers and farmers would address the plants they harvested. It is appropriate to practice thanksgiving in contemporary times as well, for all the bounty of our lives. So here is a Pagan prayer suitable for saying grace:

Earth and sky
And rain and sun,
We give thanks
For all you’ve done.
Garden, pasture,
Seed, and brood,
Bless us with
This gift of food.

By: Elizabeth Barrette

One Response

  1. Yay!
    I’m glad you like the Pagan grace that I wrote!
    I’m currently working on the Spell-a-Day material for the 2010 issue.

Leave a Reply

