Stuff

Okay my BlogLines is down to 143 and I have only the updated blogs showing so we’ll see if it’s less overwhelming or if I need be more brutal.

***

I only have lentil soup in the office and I just don’t want soup. Since I am not starving, I am trolling my BlogLine for recipes. Have I mentioned how much I like salmon?

Leftover Salmon Salad with Yogurt and Dill
(Makes 1 full-meal salad or 2 side dish salads, recipe can be doubled or quadrupled if you have enough salmon.)

6-8 oz. leftover cooked salmon (you could also use one can of salmon, although of course fresh cooked salmon is best)
1 cup celery, cut into 1/4 inch slices
1/4 cup sliced green onion
2 T chopped fresh dill

Dressing:
2 T fat free Greek yogurt (I used Fage Total 0% Greek Yogurt)
2 T mayo or light mayo (do not use fat free)
2-3 tsp. fresh lemon juice (I used 3 tsp., but I like sour flavors)
1/2 tsp. celery seed
1/2 tsp. Vege-sal (or use slightly less regular salt)

Gently break apart cooked salmon filet with a fork and place in plastic or glass bowl. Add sliced celery, sliced green onions, and finely chopped dill and gently combine.

Mix together dressing ingredients in smaller bowl, then gently fold into salad, being careful not to over-mix. Salad should be chunky. Chill 30 minutes or up to a few hours. Serve slightly cold. This would probably keep overnight in the fridge, but it won’t last that long.

Cucumber and Yogurt Salad with Feta and Dill
(Makes 4 servings)

2 long European-style cucumbers (or use 4 regular cucumbers)
3/4 cup finely chopped fresh dill leaves (measure after chopping, can use more or less to taste)
1/2 cup fat-free Greek yogurt (I used Fage Total 0% Greek Yogurt)
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
salt to taste (I used Vege-Sal)
fresh ground black pepper to taste

Cut off ends of cucumbers, and peel strips from skins, leaving thin stripes of green still showing. (If you don’t have European cucumbers and are using supermarket cucumbers with waxed skins, you may want to peel them completely.) Cut cucumbers into half lengthwise, then cut each half lengthwise into thirds, and slice. You should have bite-sized pieces not more than an inch wide. Place cucumbers into plastic bowl.

Wash and dry fresh dill, then remove the thin stems with delicate leaves from the thicker main stems. Discard thick main stems and finely chop thin stems and leaves. Add dill to the cucumbers and stir to combine. Add yogurt to cucumber-dill mixture, stirring to coat all pieces of cucumber with yogurt. Gently fold in feta, being careful not to over-mix. Season to taste with salt and fresh ground black pepper and serve immediately.

Variations: This salad could be made with sour cream instead of yogurt. If you’re a Ranch Dressing fan, I think that would also taste delicious substituted here for the yogurt.

***

Speaking of food… my green challenge to myself, is one local meal a week for the duration of the summer. I am positive we can do this.

Leave a Reply

