It’s Monday

Weekend was long. Busy. Just not enough down time, probably due to the fact that my down time was, in fact, spent dealing with a 2 day long yucky headache. Bites, bites hard.

We have a portable dishwasher (Freecycle rules!), but can’t connect it to the sink. Have to see if Dad can help.

Ran out of heating oil and will have to stay that way. (At least until I finish calling oil companies about getting on a payment plan for next year.) We’ll use our little ceramic heaters and hope for sunny days (warms house past our normal thermostat settings). So mom is all freaked out, but honestly we aren’t. So what? It gets a little cooler at night, we like it cooler. The thing is, if we borrow money, she’s just going to rub it in. And we are fine with the temps in the house. We don’t want or need it at 70+ degrees like my folks place. We actually think that is insane. Ryne will run around naked and comfortable at 65 degrees. We keep things around 63 – 66 and that has been the average temps without the radiators pinging except when we first wake in the morning. Shouldn’t have said anything to my dad on Saturday. I know better. It just slipped out. Oh well. Sucks that I need Dad’s advice for the dishwasher – I think we just need an adapter piece. Will have to call him after mom goes to work. Sheesh.

I am so tired. Not sure if it’s the headache. Or if I didn’t get enough sleep this weekend. I am probably not going to Stitch n’ Bitch tonight. I need to help put laundry away and go to sleep early.

***

Recipes:

Homemade Calzones

Miso Soupl (the only time I eat tofu)

Olive Oil Pastry It’s funny that Joanna used a potato filling for her pastry because I am thinking of making a potato pie a la pirogies. Have a thing of Ricotta I have to use this week.

Need to make more of my Chicken Pesto. I love pesto because you can pour it over just about any starch – noodles, rice, couscous, pilaf, bread, potatoes, etc. So Pesto Recipes, since I really need to stop using the packets and pull out my blender (or finally invest in a mezzaluna).

Fresh Basil Pesto

Basil Pesto

Spinach Pesto

Who knew the NPR had a food podcast? I didn’t. http://www.npr.org/rss/podcast/podcast_detail.php?siteId=4985908 Like I need another one to ignore.

***

Reading:

April Urban Fantasy Releases

Paperbacks I am looking for (pretty much this order):

Curse the Dark & Bring It On by Laurie Anne Gilman
Real Vampires Live Large by Gerry Bartlett
Fire Witch & Blood Witch by Anya Bast
Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews
Witchling by Yasmine Galenorn

Note to self: Double check if you bought or borrowed Stray and get Rogue by Rachel Vincent.

Leave a Reply

