Quickening

Besides the Highlander allusion, quickening says spring to me. And I feel it coming.

This morning I had a profound sense of quickening. Merriam-Webster Quicken stresses a sudden renewal of life or activity especially in something inert .

While driving through downtown, I sat at the light at the end of State Street. Looking past the train station to City Pier, I could see the river. Calm and glassy. I had one of those moments when you can hear Mother Nature whispering in you ear. And just to make sure I got the message, I saw three doe gracefully nibbling on the side on I95 while driving. I really need to remember my phone has a camera now and see what I can do with it.

I have not one, not two but three friends due in Oct. And another friend due a bit sooner. Booties will be my summer knitting.

There is a quickening of the soul
That calls you to action – “Yes, it’s right!”
Open to its pull, with no need to feel control
Accept the truth of your power, your might

Breathe in – shout with glorious delight
Feel the wonder and flowing, accept this role
You, purely you – leaves all traces of fright.
Stepping into the pulse of passion your only goal

There is a quickening of the soul.

Julie Jordan Scott

***

Reading

I am going to try to keep up with the books I have been reading. I think I am going to primarily use Shelfari unless I am bursting to share. I am myindigodreams on Shelfari.

I am definitely on a bodice ripper spree so nothing to report. Although my to go book is Persuasion by Jane Austen. (I usually have a to go paperback and/or yarn project in my bag.) I am not 100% sure I’ve read it before. If I hadn’t watched the BBC adaption, I might have had issues getting past the first chapter. But I am definitely enjoying it now. I am going to start About A Boy by Nick Hornby or Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr. Non-fiction is Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.

***

Ryne

My fearless little man has been sleeping with all his bedroom lights on, for the past week or so. All he’ll say is that his room is scary. No details. I am not even sure night lights would work at the moment because it’s not a matter of having a light on, he needs both of them. Like he is chasing away the shadows. This is very odd, because he’s like pitch black or just the bathroom light on for years. Guess we’ll just keep talking to him and see if he can explain.

***

Panini

I want a Panini. I think something close to 40% of my food blogs mentioned them. Off the top of my head I remember the following:

Artichoke, Oven-Roasted Tomato, and Goat Cheese Panini
Grilled Chicken with Asian Slaw Panini
Ham, Brie, and Apple French Toast Panini

Bean & Leaf does a decent panini maybe I’ll get one to go on Saturday.

***

Recipes

Lemongrass Quinoa Pilaf

Recipes for the Busy Family

3 Responses

  1. if you get in a nick hornby mood i own “how to be good”, “high fidelity” and “a long way down” if you ever want to borrow them…they’re all really good 🙂

  2. Sorry I got lost between your beautiful imagery and Duncan Mac Cloud. 😉 My son was/is scared of the dark and we’ve tried “monster spray”, magic light sabers and a nightly warding spell/prayer. He likes the ward best of all…I can send you a copy if you think it would help.

  3. Sorry I got lost between your beautiful imagery and Duncan Mac Cloud. 😉 My son was/is scared of the dark and we’ve tried “monster spray”, magic light sabers and a nightly warding spell/prayer. He likes the ward best of all…I can send you a copy if you think it would help.
    Ruinwen
    🙂

Leave a Reply

