Protein Snacks

I have my dried fruit and I have my nuts (Cashew & Brazil mmmm)… I even have baby carrots and grape tomatoes to snack on in the office (or suppliment my lunch). I mean I could eat raw veggies all day, but I don’t feel full and that gets me into big trouble.

What I need is more protein snacks. Gotta move away from the sugar.

So will be posting recipes and ideas for myself.

White Bean Hummus

2 cloves garlic
1 15-oz can white beans, drained and rinsed well
1 15-oz can garbanzo beans
1/2 cup tahini (sesame seed paste)*
3-4 tbsp fresh lemon juice (from 1 lemon)
1 tsp salt, or to taste
1/2 tsp cumin, or to taste
pinch cayenne pepper
water

Combine all ingredients, except water, in the bowl of a food processor and whiz until mixture is relatively smooth. Add in water a tablespoon or two at a time until hummus is very smooth and has reached a consistency that appeals to you (thick or thin).
Transfer to a serving bowl if eating right away, or store in an airtight container in the fridge if not. Hummus will keep for several days.

(Which reminds me that I have been in the mood for some good falafel.)

***

I want to find a itty bitty (ok 1.5 quart) slow cooker to make Steel Cut Oatmeal… overnight. Yummy

2 Responses

  1. I’ve found mini-crock pots that are about the right size to keep a dip or sauce warm for about 10$ at target. I think that’s probably smaller than you’re looking for, but it might be worth a look. It would cook one serving of the steel cut for you without a problem. I know that Target still carries them, although the price may have changed. I believe the one i have is made by Rival.

  2. i think i may have a few extras of that size lying around at my moms, i will look and see, if so you can have one

Leave a Reply

