Knitting and Food

Food first…

This came in my email this morning. Definitely want to try this and works well with my shopping list. Just need a couple things extra. May use my pie pumpkin instead of squash.

Moroccan Tagine

INGREDIENTS

1 tablespoon olive oil
2 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – cut into chunks
1/2 onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 small butternut squash, peeled and chopped
1 (15.5 ounce) can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
1 carrot, peeled and chopped
1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes with juice
1 (14 ounce) can vegetable broth
1 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 dash cayenne pepper

DIRECTIONS

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat, and cook the chicken, onion, and garlic about 15 minutes, until browned.

Mix the squash, garbanzo beans, carrot, tomatoes with juice, broth, sugar, and lemon juice into the skillet. Season with salt, coriander, and cayenne pepper.

Bring the mixture to a boil, and continue cooking 30 minutes, until vegetables are tender

***

Knitting (and Crochet)

I’ve come to realize I like teaching, a lot. So I have been seriously considering going for my Master Knitter thru the TKGA. Will definitely be getting my membership to the Guild and I think Level I of the Masters program would be snap. Level II will be a bit more interesting and we’ll see about Level III when I get there. LOL

And since I am a Crocheter too… May go with a membership with the CGOA even though it’s more expensive and there are no local groups (all are at the other end of the state). But I’d like to get my Masters in Basic Stitches. They have a Master in Thread, but I’ve never really been into thread crochet. My hands don’t like it and too much strain having the one eye.

Speaking of teaching knitting… I am determined to learn English Knitting, because some of my students are determined to move the yarn with their right hand. So, I am going to do a basic hat and do English only. A rhyme to remember – In through the front door, once around the back, peek through the window and off jumps Jack.

I want to see if I can get my tension figured out and the movement into a habit. LOL, I can see why people hate purling when I watch KnittingHelp.com.

This will also help with my goal for this year: Two color knitting – one color in each hand and make these for myself: Bird in Hand in black and light pink or a kettle dyed icy blue, I think.

And while I am on the subject of knitting… which should be my next lace project (now that clapotis just needs the ends sewn in)? Bed of Roses (need to buy long circs) or a wrap based on Mermaid Mesh Tunic (just need to figure out edging) or Easy Flame Lace Scarf.

I’d love your input. Going to do all three eventually but just don’t know which one to do first. I have the yarn for all three.

One Response

  1. I don’t knit, I’m pure crochet. I liked the mermaid lace.

Leave a Reply

