Food Cravings and Girl Scout Cookies

I want Brussel Sprouts. Yes I know I am strange, but my tummy is eclectic. Besides my grandpa and I loved our brussel sprouts and he has been on my mind a lot lately, not 100% sure why.

***

January means Girl Scout Cookies (GSC). Don’t get me wrong, we will be investing in a few troops this year, as we always do. But the two bakers of GSCs still use trans fats in their cookies. So they have become a guilty pleasure instead of just a pleasure. Sigh.

I give you a couple recipes:

Homemade Thin Mints
Homemade Samoas

Okay, who about a couple more.

Whoopie Pies

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

1 cup butter (or 1/2 cup shortening & 1/2 cup margarine)
1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
1 1/2 cup peanut butter
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (wheat flour has been subbed sucessfully)
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 cup quick-cooking oats
Chocolate Chips (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, cream butter (or shortening/margarine), brown sugar, white sugar, and peanut butter until smooth. Beat in the eggs one at a time until well blended.

Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt; stir into the creamed mixture. Mix in the oats (and chips) until just combined.

Drop by teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake for 10 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven, or until just light brown. DO NOT OVER BAKE!

3 Responses

  1. I adore Brussels sprouts. Fresh, steamed, right off the stalk. Mm.

  2. totally just bookmarked the Samoas recipe. YUM!

  3. Yay, Brussels Sprouts! My favored one, , is not wild about them, though.

Leave a Reply

